For majority of fans this might sound strange but for new fans it is a short description of the crew. As the name meaning “The Straw Hat Pirates” obviously the crew are pirates originated from East Blue, but they also have different members from different areas. The main lead protagonist of One Piece manga is Monkey D. Luffy. The name Straw Hats was given by the Luffy’s hat that Red-Haired Shanks gave it to Luffy, the first time the crew was called the Straw Hat Pirates was by Smoker in Alabasta. The Straw hat pirates consist of nine members, when some particular events took place all nine members were separated. They trained for nearly two years in different places to become even stronger just to help each other.

Crew Members

As a lead protagonist as he is Luffy has the right to choose who joins the crew, as a result of that Straw Hat crew are most varied pirate crew in the One Piece world.
The Straw Hats have four Devil Fruits eaters: Luffy, Chooper, Brook and Robin. Many of them are young, only three of the members are thirty years old or older, although two oldest members are just as childish as the other young members. Straw Hat crew consider their ships to be crew members in contradictory to most crews.

Luffy together with Zoro, and Sanji, they make the “Monster Trio”, the three strongest members of the crew.

Here you can read about each of the members in more details:
Monkey D. Luffy
Roronoa Zoro
Tony Tony Chopper
Nico Robin